Manage a series

Learn how to manage your content as episodes and seasons.


šŸ‘

This is a beta offering. You can request access to this beta feature through your JWP Account Manager.

By using this documentation, you are agreeing to abide by the terms of the JWP Beta Program Agreement.


In addition to running and creating a series, you can add a series to a playlist and edit and delete series. The following sections explain these different ways to manage your series.


Add a series to an app

Use the following steps to add a series to an app:

  1. Create a playlist. You can create either a manual or dynamic playlist.

    šŸ’”

    When creating a dynamic playlist, be sure to define the Filter by Customer Parameters playlist setting:

    1. In the Key textbox, enter contentType.
    2. In the Value textbox, enter series.

  1. Add the playlist to an app config.


Edit a series

Episodes

  1. In the Media Library, from the Media Category dropdown menu select Series. The list of media items will be filtered to only series in your library.
  2. Click the name of the series. The details page of the series appears.
  3. In the Episodes section, click Edit Episodes. The Series Details fullscreen window appears.
  4. Edit the series.
  5. Click Save.

Seasons

  1. In the Media Library, from the Media Category dropdown menu select Series. The list of media items will be filtered to only series in your library.
  2. Click the name of the series. The details page of the series appears.
  3. In the Seasons section, hover over the season.
  4. Click the pencil icon. The Season Details fullscreen window appears.
  5. Edit the season.
  6. Click Save.


Delete a series

šŸ“˜

When a series or season is deleted, none of the episodes (the video content) are deleted from your Media Library.

Series

Use the following steps to delete a series:

  1. In the Media Library, from the Media Category dropdown menu select Series. The list of media items will be filtered to only series in your library.
  2. Click the checkbox next to the series.
  3. Click Delete. The Delete Media popup window appears.
  4. Click Delete.

Season

Use the following steps to delete a season:

  1. In the Media Library, from the Media Category dropdown menu select Series. The list of media items will be filtered to only series in your library.
  2. Click the name of the series. The details page of the series appears.
  3. In the Seasons section, hover over the season.
  4. Click the trash can icon. The Delete Media popup window appears.
  5. Click Delete.


FAQs

What happens when a series or season is deleted?

When a series or season is deleted for the following occur:

  • The series or season is deleted from your Media Library.
  • Thumbnails and images associated with the series are deleted.

šŸ“˜

All other content, such as videos, added to a series or season are not deleted. They will remain in your Media Library.


Are there any playlist sorts that cannot be applied to a playlist of series?

Yes, sorting a playlist of series by views or trending will not impact the playlist order. Views are associated with individual media and not with a series.